Although it is less common than it used to be, there are still many people in Will County who invite sales representatives into their homes to present products.
The idea is that after the presentation, the customer will purchase something from the salesperson.
Most of the time, this is a fair business deal. Unfortunately, there are too many people in Illinois who use high-pressure techniques once they are in a person’s home in order to push a sale.
It can leave the homeowner feeling that they have no choice but to buy a product they do not even want in order to get the other person to leave. Sometimes, a homeowner may feel the pressure even if the salesperson is entirely truthful and above board.
Illinois law gives buyers in these circumstances a cooling-off period
Illinois law prohibits sales representatives from lying or engaging in other dishonest techniques, but it goes beyond that as well.
For example, for sales in one’s home involving more than $25, a buyer has 3 business days after making an agreement to withdraw from the purchase at no cost to the buyer. Aside from giving notice, all the buyer has to do is return the merchandise in its original condition.
Moreover, the seller has to provide the buyer with written notice of these rights. Among other things, the notice must include an address where the buyer can contact the seller.
Like other consumer protection laws, the point of this law is to make sure that average residents do not get taken advantage of by unscrupulous businesses.
If a seller does not give proper notice, then under the law, the 3-day grace period does not start until the buyer does so.
A seller may not do anything to convince a buyer to waive the 3-day grace period or unfairly pressure the buyer into not taking it.
If a person has difficulties exercising this option, they may have legal remedies available.